With A Grateful Heart

I am still having difficulty sorting out and understanding the uniquely interwoven circumstances that created the desperate situation I found myself in at the end of 2010 – 9/11 and my unemployment, the struggling economy, the housing market collapse and abandonment of pets, unknowingly moving to a valley where there are so many homeless cats, my desire to do what God asks of me, my sense of responsibility for, and difficulty saying goodbye to, a furry friend once a loving bond has formed, the relationship and communication problems between me and my now ex-wife, and of course, my own ignorance and blindness. It’s all so very complicated.

yet looking back, it jumps out at me how God granted nearly every request I ever made regarding these cats. His gentle, loving hand let no harm come to them. I was not alone in my prayers either. There were many people praying for us – family, friends and even complete strangers.

I still pray for these kitties often – that they will all find their forever homes and be dearly loved, that they will live healthy and happy, and have many sweet, peaceful dreams napping in the sunshine, and that they will always remember how much I cared for them. They were my friends.

In joyful astonishment, many who shared my concern for these already-once-abandoned kitties have tried to give me credit for the thoroughly successful re-rescue of all 57 of them. But the fact is, none of the credit is mine, I had no clever plan. When my wife suddenly left me, I became a complete wreck and could not even think clearly for a very long time. I really didn’t know what I was doing. I simply cried out with all my heart and trusted my Father in heaven to guide my steps in total darkness. It is an uncomfortable feeling when you can’t see where you are going. But I believe that is exactly how God wanted it. My faith has grown because I had no choice but to take my Father’s hand and trust Him to lead me through the black — which He did! I have shed many tears of gratitude.

Thank you Father. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

This entry was posted in Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to With A Grateful Heart

  1. Toby says:

    Your story touched my heart! I am the lucky “mom” of 6 formerly homeless kitties — I wish I could have adopted all of yours, but I see they are all on their way to good forever homes. You have a WONDERFUL heart!! Like you, I see the hand of God in all you’ve done to help these little ones. Best to you!!!

  2. kim says:

    best of luck to you in your future. i’m so glad our paths crossed, even if only for a brief time. muffins and suzy are doing great…you are truly an angel on earth. for all you did for these kitties, for all you are doing, and for all you will do, i thank you.
    take care, and god bless you. 🙂

  3. Kimberly says:

    Tiggr is doing FANTASTIC!!! He is such a lover boy and a cuddle bunny!! I go to bed and he is right there, wanting to cuddle up against me. When I wake up in the morning, he is still touching me in some form. I’m so glad we found each other after the 4 hours I spent at your place, waiting for the right one to select me, and he did. I look back and laugh at the fact that he was not even in consideration until I sat down on the stairs and he came and snuggled against me. We both selected each other and it was a winning match at that.

    He and Tazo play ALL the time and Tazo has found himself a “brother”.

    I was at Petsmart a couple of weeks ago and saw a lot of your other kiddos awaiting for their forever homes. I saw Tiggr’s brother along with about 4 others. They all looked good and I’m sure by now, they are all settling into their new surroundings.

    Be blessed in your new start!!

Leave a Reply

