Simon Is coming home!

Hello everyone. I realize that it has been almost eight months since my last blog entry. I just haven’t had the heart for it until now.

I have been passing the days in Spokane Washington, working to rebuild myself and start anew, which for me has turned out to be a long and difficult process. But, thanks to the support of family and friends, the companionship of Peanut and Chester and the warm blue-skies-days of summer, I have been gradually gaining strength.

I really am trying very hard to move past my life that was. But I just don’t know how to force my heart to let go of those I loved. There are days that I miss my ex-wife, and I miss terribly every one of my kitty friends that I had to leave behind — especially Simon, who lived in our computer room where I spent most of my time. He was a very sweet and sensitive boy. He and I shared a strong, loving bond. I have thought about him often. And for some reason I even kept all of his things.

NOTE: Simon was a little, feral kitten with Feline Leukemia Virus (FeLV) who came into our lives when my wife ran over him on the highway. Click here to read Simon’s story.

Back at the beginning of this year, when I was desperate to find homes for my cats, nobody wanted Simon because he was FeLV Positive. As time grew short, I grew more concerned. But then, I was contacted by Beth Montes, founder of Casa de los Gatos in Tucson, who offered to accept Simon into her feline leukemia house. This was great news for Simon and a tremendous relief for me. I hope that Beth and her people know how much their willingness, commitment and caring means. To me they are heros every day. I knew that they would take good care of Simon, and although I didn’t know if I would ever see him again, I always hoped…

Now, eight months later, I am in a position where I can take him back, and once again Casa de los Gatos has come to the rescue. They are transporting Simon to Washington for me, and in just a few days we will be reunited. This is the first truly happy thing to happen in my life since it all began to crumble a year ago. — Simon Is coming home!

This entry was posted in Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

